My Bleeding Brains

November 10, 2008

bloggy-ho!

Filed under: Uncategorized — eeplebert @ 9:08 am

For the first time in a long time I am optimistic about the state of government and politics in general. Another first for me was feeling moved nearly to tears by President-Elect Obama’s words on election night.

I’ve been molting from one blog to another this year. I neglected my former myopera page for myspace friends and livejournal contact with my wife while she was away doing research in Africa.

I’ve had some nibbles but no takers for the longest unemployed period of my life. My youngest brother is having similar job hunt trouble, but he’s engaged to a kickass soldier woman – who’s also a mother.

I have a firm grip on how little it matters in the scope of the enormously complex world we live in, but I’m still mourning my cat Spike. I probably only overattached because I didn’t think I could feel the same sense of loss I felt at 16 when my dog Duke died.

Seven years of Spike being my shadow, very vocal and personable…I miss him at all sorts of awkward times lately. Miss being woken up in the morning by insistent meow-whining that if ignored, led to clawing at the foot end of the bed.

But most of all I miss his feet on my arm when sitting at my computer, or on my leg when sitting on the couch playing pinball on the xbox or watching mythbusters or enterprise.

I think about applying at the low-ball places I haven’t hit yet in town. Gas stations, fast food, whatever. I can relate to those depression-era pictures I see where guys have signs saying ‘any job will do.’

There’s yet another new stephen king book on the shelves. I never finished Duma Key, though Cell wasn’t a total loss. Michael Crichton died, meaning there’ll be no more wonderful books from him.

I’ve been compiling a short list of albums or books to suggest to the family this Thanksgiving, since I know they’re gonna ask. And I can’t just say ‘check my amazon wishlist’ because these are my blood kin – they may grok the internet, but want a recitation on demand.

I played Spyro – Dawn of the Dragon for the ps2 and although it appears they’ve fixed the most annoying aspects of the last game, this one is just another button-mashing combat sim with no similarity to the games that built the franchise.

I played Crash – Mind Over Mutant, the second in the Crash Bandicoot series to ditch the Bandicoot from the title entirely. This is another example of drawing out a franchise without any new ideas. I really liked the platformer aspects of Crash Tag Team Racing, but the rest of the game was too easy.

How hard can it be to find someone who can breathe life into these characters that is also not unlike the games that made them so famously popular? Ratchet and Clank seems to be the series where all that fun went, but even that’s become a combat sim with platformer elements scattered about.

On the blogging front, this year’s big concept was to multiplex myself, splitting off gamer related rants to one site, music and concert reviews to another, book and website stuff in perhaps another, and diary-type psychobabble like this – also politicks, hence bleeding brains here.

Maybe in another month or two I’ll have linked up my own personal multiplex, waltz through slapping a post on each of them every fortnight, and consider my plan realized.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

