My Bleeding Brains

October 31, 2009

Samhain etc

Filed under: Uncategorized — eeplebert @ 7:22 am

Rumpled thoughts like the crumbling leaves.

Cali keeps it alive, the grasses out the back window that had died a month ago appear to be green again already. The leaves are off about half the trees. But there are some that just don’t play that.

There’s a wee nip in the air, even here. On the way to the car the other morning, still moonlit, I could see my breath.

No matter where you go, there you are.

I leapt before I looked and now I have a minor mess to clean up.

A friend helped me upgrade to 10.6, the Snow Leopard version. Except now my firewire dvd burner now doesn’t work at all.

And the fan makes this strange chirpy noise like a cricket every once in a while. At least I think it’s the fan. It could be the hard drive making those noises, maybe.

I liked using the external burner. So I’m gonna have to archive all my important stuff and revert to the previous version of the os. A task I’d rather not do at all, ever.

In other news, I noticed nintendo has announced a version of their handheld that I might actually want to use. After they gave me what I originally wanted, which was New Super Mario Bros. on a bigger screen…they brought it out revamped for the wii.

Now they’ve also upgraded the DS, making the screen something I could actually see without holding it eight inches from my face. It’s big enough to actually use.

I imagine the bigger touchscreen surface would make it much easier to use the free open-source proteinDS and other scratch-tastic samplodelic music creation apps. Maybe even onstage in performance, as some chiptune artists do with gameboys.

Its another sabbat, another holiday, another halloween, another samhain, another day of the dead. I look forward to the next few days. Trying to explain the ancient signifigance of this holiday to fundamentalist Christian relatives…is less fun.

But keep a wary eye, paint up your face, eat sweets, get spooked, remember the dead, and till next our paths do cross, well and blessed be.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

