My Bleeding Brains

May 3, 2011

just because I can’t not

Filed under: Uncategorized — eeplebert @ 7:41 am

Salutations to the US Military, anybody along the chain of command that maintained some semblance of human dignity and didn’t let anyone go in with a firehose full of bullets Sopranos-style.

But I ain’t even gonna say his name, ok? Not here. Not now.

My brother, countless friends and relatives, yours too of course, served, were in danger, were away from home, away from their children, dirty, tired, dehydrated, shot at, etc.

I can go right down the rabbit hole with you some other day about if he ever existed or was a CIA plant, any other cryptofascist conspiracy theory you wanna spew. Just not today.

Today I’m thankful once more I ever won the stupid luck lottery and got born American. Somebody I respect said “three Presidents said they’d get X, finally one of ’em did it.”

I’m’a try and link to the lyrics of a few of the songs that make me choke up, of the hundreds if not thousands of songs borne of this stupid damn war and all the stupid pain it’s caused. In another context recently I shared a clip my brother sent me set to Jason Isbell’s song “Dress Blues.”

Here’s a few choice words from Master Jason Isbell I hope only bring him further renown.

http://www.songlyrics.com/jason-isbell/however-long-lyrics/

“See the man with the military mind
Trying to make us all afraid all the time
Trying to make us all stay inside and lock our doors and windows
See the man’s got too much to count
Try to recollect the sermon on the mount
Blessed are the poor when they’re all swinging from the gallows

But I ain’t afraid no more

I ain’t afraid no more

I ain’t afraid no more

No, I ain’t afraaaiiid…cuz

However long the night, the dawn will break again
We’ll be around when you have lost your oldest friends
There’s nothing you can say or do to us to drown out this Amen
‘Cause however long the night, the dawn will break again”

http://www.jasonisbell.com/

Think I’d sell a kidney to be able to write like that.

Since this joint appears to be so new the placenta’s still fresh, so to speak…no lyrics. Just listen.

Thank you Pat G and Bridge Life Entertainment, discovered via Mr. Lif on facebook yesterday.

We made it through the night!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

