My Bleeding Brains

May 11, 2011

the ABCs of Free/Open Source Mac Software

Filed under: Uncategorized — eeplebert @ 9:37 am

You ever do just one thing at a time anymore? I know the productivity lecturers, the motivational speakers, and the performance analysts, the to-do list, GTD nuts all say that multitasking is a myth. Focus is the key.

Some days I just don’t get the people peddling to the middle, the mean, the average. I mean, of course, that’s where the easy money is. Convincing them to hand it over just takes a little stage panache and patter. So going to motivational seminars or becoming the used-car-salesman type required to be successful at giving said lectures – neither one ever appealed to me much.

For whatever reasons and whoever I have to thank (or coise) for my fate, I have not been over there. I’ve been up here for some yet-to-be-perfectly-defined purpose. Being in the 90th percentile for anything might be cause for celebration, but I’m afraid of heights and I don’t like pedestals.

Digression aside…

Listening to Kevin and Jen on Plus One Per Diem, one day behind via the podcast and not the live stream because old habits die harder than some, I guess.

I had to be productive too. So I did the dishes, made some notes, nixed attempting to read my book because it’s harder, while not impossible, to do listening to spoken word commentary. Shuffled through my notes for a novel written more than a year ago, discovering some interesting paths I never actually remembered to go down, or at least not yet, anyway.

and then the cloudy Salinas skies parted and I saw a ray of tungsten lamp light shine across the page where I’d written a hasty list of all the “essential mac apps” I wanted to re-download and install ASAP after acquiring a used mac those many years ago.

Some things have been added, but most of these pieces of excellent (and mostly “pay-only-if-you-like-it”) software have been around a while.

Without further ado (and not perfectly edited, I know I’m making some guesses here and some of these are either not open sourced or not free, but I intend a brief list of the few worthwhile unbloated paywares below, so please if you wish, correct my errors) :

The ABCs of Open Source Macintosh Computer Software

Adium / Audacity /  Adblock / anybody use Apache anymore?

Burn / Bean / Blacklight

Cyberduck / Cog / Camino / google Chrome

Disk Inventory X / DiskEject / DropBox

ffmpegx / FLAC for QT / flux / Flip4Mac / FlashFrozen / FlashBlock / FlashGot

Growl / GIMP / gimpshop / google earth

Handbrake / himmelbar

iBurn360 (legal backup software, and hey, I didn’t try to claim any old iApp!)

Jdownloader / JackPilot

KISMac wifi scanner

last.fm scrobbler (bit of a cheat for letter L)

macam (legacy webcam driver) / Max / Mac FLAC / Monolingual / MPEG Streamclip / Mixxx / MenuPrefs

Nocturne / Name Mangler / Name Changer

Opera (the browser, not the community)

Picasa / PeerGuardian / Perian

QuickTime Player / QuickSilver (a lotta people LOVE it, but I run a tight ship so I’ve never needed it, yet anyway.)

ReduxEncoder (what used to be VisualHub)

Safari / Seashore / Songbird / System Profiler

Transmission / Terminal (can’t handle a CLI? gtfo!)

the Unarchiver / UnRarX / uTorrent

VLC / VirtualDJ

WriteRoom / WrongRoom / WINE / WineBottler

xACT / X11

Not Free – but still worth a look:

Crossover from CodeWeavers!!

Spaceward Ho!

Peggle Deluxe

Bejeweled 3

Toast (by astarte, no, adaptec, no, roxio. cuz that just roxxy, yo! /sarcasm)

Adopey FotoChop

AudioHijack

Traktor DJ Studio

Unison / Unison 2

GarageBand, iMovie/iDVD. (Just not iPhoto unless they fixed it.)

Games:

Allgood Solitaire

Quinn

Snood

Solavant

Solitaire XL

Portal

Zuma Deluxe

There’s a similar list for the peecee, I just don’t bring out the gimp that often, it is my backup unit for a reason. So aside from the virus shields, the similar stuff that does the things I want on that side of the OperatingSystem fence, I’d say DaemonTools was a champion in a pinch more than once. But don’t be afraid to edit your windows registry on the fly and make certain you become a good process killer and veteran user of TOP or CMD to monitor your processes under the hood. That’s the only way to use a wintel box without losing your marbles very quickly.

+++

Okay! It’s your turn; what did I miss?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

